This is the "Home" page of the "Research Guide for Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guide for Psychology  

This guide is for students at Southern Oregon University doing research in psychology.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sou.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journals by Title



» Journals by Title

 

Tests and Measures

Looking for information on finding psychological tests and meaures? Try the APA's FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests page.

 

Hannon Library Catalog



» Hannon Library Catalog

Zotero

  • Zotero
    "Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
  • Zotero Downloads
    Includes Zotero for Firefox and stand alone Zotero.
  • Word Processor Plugin
    Enter citations directly into your paper using this Zotero plugin.
  • Quick Start Guide
    This Zotero guide gives you the basics on what Zotero can do and how to do it.
  • Ebsco directions
    1) Select the article.
    2) Click on "Export" (to right)
    3) Select "Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)"
    4) Click on "Save."
    5) Make sure information is entered correctly.

Article Databases

 

PsycInfo Tutorial, Part I: Searching

Click to download the tutorial for higher quality viewing. Or you can try watching the streaming version on full screen and adjusting the quality in the bottom bar.

Click here for a version with captioning.

 

PsycInfo Tutorial, Part II: Access and Management Tools

Click to download the tutorial for higher quality viewing. Or you can try watching the streaming version on full screen and adjusting the quality in the bottom bar.

Click here for a version with captioning.

A Few Psychology Websites

Please note that some of these sites may include links to resources of varying quality. For some ideas on how to evaluate them, please consult our Evaluating Web Resources page.

  • Classics in the History of Psychology
    This website provides full-text access to several historically important psychology texts.
  • American Psychological Association
    This site for psychology's main association includes a wealth of information and resources. It is well worth exploring.
  • Mental Health
    This is the CDC's website on Mental Health. It includes extensive information on various aspects of mental health, including links to data and statistics.
  • Social Psychology Network
    This is an extensive gateway to psychological research and education materials.
  • Diseases of the Mind
    This site is sponsored by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and includes historical information on our understanding of mental illness through 1900.
  • Encyclopedia of Psychology
    This is not really an encyclopedia, but rather a gateway to websites on a given topic.
  • PsychCentral
    This gateway includes an annotated list of a variety of online resources related to psychology and mental health.
  • PsychScholar
    This is yet another gateway to psychology related websites.
  • Psychology Paper Topics
    Do you need to write a paper for psychology but have no idea what topic to choose? Try this page to get some ideas.
 

APA (6th ed) Journal Article from Database

Format for Journal article with DOI (7 or fewer authors)

Lastname, F. N., & Secondlastname, F. N. (year). Name of article. Name of Journal, volumenumber, startpage-endpage. doi: number

If there is no DOI

If you found the journal outside of a database, use: Retrieved from URLofjournalhomepage

Additional notes:

Be sure to indent after the first line.

If the journal is paginated by issue, include the issue number in parentheses after the journal number. There should be no space between them, but the issue number and parentheses are not in italics.

For clarification, exceptions, or for resources that are different from the above, check out the APA tab on this guide, or use one of the style manuals at the Reference Desk in the Library.

Librarian

 

Chat

If I don't respond right away, I'm probably away from my computer. In that case, you can email me and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

 

QR Code for Contact Info

 

Books in Psychology


Cover Art
Sibling Relationships in Childhood and Adolescence - Avidan Milevsky
Call Number: BF723.S43 M55 2011
ISBN: 9780231157094
Publication Date: 2011-08-16

Cover Art
The Evolution of Personality and Individual Differences - David M. Buss (Editor); Patricia H. Hawley (Editor)
Call Number: BF698.9.B5 E86 2011
ISBN: 9780195372090
Publication Date: 2010-11-24

Cover Art
The Psychology of Eating - Jane Ogden
Call Number: RC552.E18 O47 2010
ISBN: 9781405191203
Publication Date: 2010-02-09

Cover Art
Memory, War and Trauma - Nigel C. Hunt
Call Number: HM554 .H88 2010
ISBN: 9780521887847
Publication Date: 2010-05-13

Cover Art
Positive Psychology as Social Change - Robert Biswas-Diener (Editor)
Call Number: BF204.6 .P655 2011
ISBN: 9789048199372
Publication Date: 2010-12-09

Cover Art
Essential Ethics for Psychologists - Thomas F. Nagy
Call Number: BF76.4 .N338 2011
ISBN: 9781433808630
Publication Date: 2010-08-15

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip