This guide is for students at Southern Oregon University doing research in philosophy or religion.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2014
"Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
- Zotero Downloads
Includes Zotero for Firefox and stand alone Zotero.
- Word Processor Plugin
Enter citations directly into your paper using this Zotero plugin.
- Quick Start Guide
This Zotero guide gives you the basics on what Zotero can do and how to do it.
Book Forged in Hell
Call Number: B3985.Z7 N34 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-19
Mind and Cosmos
Call Number: BD511 .N34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-26
Call Number: Q175.5 .S465 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-21
How do I find a particular journal?
- Open the Hannon Library Catalog.
- Select “In the title” from the first dropdown.
- Select “Starts with” from the second dropdown.
- Enter the journal title in the search box.
- Select Material Type: “Journals.”
- Hit Search.
If we have it, you should see results appear in a list. Click “View Online” to see options for reading the journal online. Click “Get it” to learn more about what physical print issues we have.
If you don’t see any links, then we probably don’t have it and you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. It will take 1-7 business days and costs $2 for SOU students for each article. You will receive it electronically when it arrives.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is an online encyclopedia of philosophy. It has some great articles complete with bibliographies to help you find other sources of information.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This is another freely available, high quality resource for finding introductions to a wide variety of philosophical areas.
"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of works in philosophy. In addition to indexing books and journal articles, we monitor open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers."
This includes thousands of sorted links to philosophy resources on the internet and has several additional features.
- Erratic Impact
Categorized by history, subject and author, this meta-index integrates text resources with online resources in philosophy and related fields.
- Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
This is Professor Peter Suber's well-known guide to philosophy on the internet. Scroll down to see the extensive lists of a wide variety of resources. (Be aware that he's no longer keeping this up-to-date.)
- Khan Academy
A large collection of free online educational videos.
- Learning Zone Broadband Class Clips (BBC)
A collection of some excellent, short video clips from the BBC.
- PBS Videos
A collection of PBS shows that are currently available for free streaming.
- Ted Talks
A collection of video podcasts where the world's leading thinkers and doers give "the talk of their lives" in 18 minutes.
- Filmakers Library Online
A multidisciplinary collection of 1000+ issue-based documentaries and independent films available as streaming video.
- Education YouTube
A channel within YouTube that includes only education videos.
- iTunes U
Use this app on the iPhone or iPad to access another collection of educational videos.
If I don't respond right away, I'm probably away from my computer. In that case, you can email me and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.