New Books (paper and e-book formats) with Area Focus
This is the "Home" page of the "Research Guide for International Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guide for International Studies  

This guide is for Southern Oregon University students doing research in international studies.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sou.edu/international Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hannon Library Catalog and Summit

Search for books, videos, and other library materials at SOU and in our consortium:


Hannon Library Summit

» Hannon Library Catalog
» Summit

Search Google Scholar

 

Article Databases for International Studies

  • Academic Search Complete  This huge multi-disciplinary database has full-text for over 7000 journals, including over 6000 that are peer-reviewed. It also has abstracts for an additional 11,000 journals. This database is a good starting point for many research projects.
  • LexisNexis Academic  This database has several distinct modules. Two important ones are "News" and "Legal Research." "News" has more than 350 newspapers full-text from the U.S. and around the world as well as news magazines, broadcast transcripts, etc. "Legal" has federal and state case law, federal codes and regulations, and state codes among a host of other legal materials.
  • JSTOR: Arts & Sciences I, II & III  Journals included are available from their first year to recently (usually 3-5 years) in full text.  Searches may be limited by subject area.
  • Sage Journals Online  This interdisciplinary schoarly journal database that can be limited to full-text available to SOU
  • Wiley Online Library  This interdisciplinary schoarly journal database that can be limited to full-text available to SOU (international in scope).
 

Journals by Title

How do I find a particular journal?

  1. Open the Hannon Library Catalog.
  2. Select “In the title” from the first dropdown.
  3. Enter the journal title in the search box.
  4. Select Material Type: “Journals.”
  5. Hit Search.

If we have it, you should see results appear in a list. Click “View Online” to see options for reading the journal online. Click “Get it” to learn more about what physical print issues we have.

If you don’t see any links, then we probably don’t have it and you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. It will take 1-7 business days and costs $2 for SOU students for each article. You will receive it electronically when it arrives.

Websites for International Studies

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies (English Interface) - The online Handbook of Latin American Studies is a searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities. Updated weekly by Library of Congress. Search also in Spanish or Portuguese. Mostly provides citations without links to full-text, Hannon Library Catalog, or InterLibrary Loan for articles or InterLibrary Loan for books. Find out about article availabltiy by searching through the Journals by Title link.

United Nations - Well organized gateway to UN and its many agencies and other sub-parts.   

Peace Corps Digital Library - Gateway to government documents and personal narritives related to the Peace Corps program.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip