This is the "Home" page of the "Green House" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Green House  

This guide is for students participating in the Green House at Southern Oregon University.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sou.edu/greenhouse Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sample Books from the SOU Catalog

Cover Art
Organic Production and Food Quality - Robert Blair
ISBN: 0813812178
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
E-book available via Internet link; requires your SOU network login

Cover Art
Garbology - Edward Humes
Call Number: TD788 .H86 2012 Floor 3
ISBN: 1583334343
Publication Date: 2012-04-19

Cover Art
The Future of Water - Steve Maxwell; Scott Yates
Call Number: HD1691 .M38 2011
ISBN: 1583218092
Publication Date: 2011
Hardcopy

The Future of Water: a startling look ahead - Steve Maxwell, Scott Yates
Publication Date: 2011
E-book available via Internet link (same book as hardcopy above); requires your SOU network login

Sample Websites about Water, Food, Garbage, or all of the above

Databases to Search for Scholarly Articles

What is are scholarly (or peer-reviewed) articles, and how can they be found at SOU?
Scholarly articles are published after scrutiny and comment by "peers" (usually experts in a field of study), a process that leads to refinement and improvement of the article by the time it appears in print.  Peer-reviewed articles are written for an informed, usually academic audience. Scholarly journals look different from popular literature such as news or hobby magazines.  For more information about how to recognize peer-reviewed articles, click here.  SOU Hannon Library has subscriptions to print scholarly journals and provides access to thousands of online peer-reviewed articles from journals online.  Use the databases below to find online and print articles in fields of environmental studies. 
--
EBSCO GreenFile,  Agricola, and Academic Search Complete (may be searched separately or together) - may be limited to peer-reviewed sources
--
Sage Journals - searchable database of over 460 scholarly journals, many in science and technology
--
Wiley InterScience Journals   - searchable database of 1,500 scholarly journals, some available in full-text at SOU
--

SpringerLink Journals - searchable database of 1,300 scholarly journals, some available in full-text at SOU

--
JSTOR - an archive of core peer-reviewed journals allows searching from the first year of a journal to 3-5 years ago; limit by subject is recommended
--
Gale Environmental Studies and Policy Collection - includes public policy and private sector perspectives; may be limited to peer-reviewed sources
      

    Green House Librarian

    Green House Librarian

    Profile Image
    Jim Rible
    Contact Info
    552-6821
    3rd floor of the Library
    Send Email

    How do I cite something?

    Hannon Library Citation Links - See section on APA style

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip