Getting Started with Government Information
Welcome to the Federal and Oregon State Depository Library at Southern Oregon University!
The Government Publications Department is located on the main floor of Hannon Library behind the Reference Desk. For help please use the chat box below or phone/email the department using contact information at right.
Issues in the News
Gun Control, Fracking and Health Care!
Catalogs of Agency Websites
Find Government websites by Department name:
President's Budget of the U.S. Government, FY 2014
- Budget of the United States Government, Fiscal Year 2014
- Appendix, Budget of the United States Government, Fiscal Year 2014
- Analytical Perspectives, Budget of the United States Government, Fiscal Year 2014
- Historical Tables, Budget of the United States Government Fiscal Year 2014
- FY 2014 Budget app/mobile site
SOU Hannon Library IS a Federal Depository Library

Catalog Search for Government Documents
Search here for Government Publications available through the Hannon Library Catalog
Some of these publications will be INTERNET only (they will have no SUDOC number). Internet publications can be accessed by clicking the web address given. Publications with SUDOC numbers can be found in hardcopy in the GovPubs stacks.
Featured Publications
- Hidden Treasure - National Library of Medicine A fascinating exploration of medical history with lavish illustrations.
- NOAA Climate Summary April, 2012Online at the NOAA Satellite and Information Service
- Kellutellra Alaska-m ungalaqlirnera eniaritulinun itrallerkaaneng kass'at yup'iit-llu qaneryaraitgun : protecting southwestern Alaska from invasive species, a guide in the English and Yup'ik languagesElectronic access through the Hannon Library Catalog. Hard copy is also available.
Quick Links for Searching the Web for GovPubs
- USA.gov Enter your search directly in the search box or use the explore topics link to get you started in a broad range of materials.
- Browse Topics - your pathway to government informationUse the Available Topics link to find a list of topics.
- Government Apps for Smart Technology
- Googling Government SitesIn the Advanced Google Search, enter your keywords or phrase in the appropriate search box (Keep it simple - only two or three words). Then go to the bottom of the search options and where it says "Search within a site or domain", enter .gov. Then, try the same search using .us.
- SearchMilOver 1 million military pages indexed and ranked in order of popularity
FDsys - Federal Digital System
Link within the box below for access to the Government Printing Office database of government information.
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) enables GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. Look here for Budget, CFR, Congressional Record, Econ. Indicators, Econ. Rept. of the Pres., Federal Register, Public Laws, US Code, Statutes at Large and more.
MetaLib
MetaLib, a service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, is a portal which can search simultaneously for government reports, articles, and citations and provide direct links to online electronic information. Use Advanced Search for the most versatility.
More Indexes to Government Publications
Use the databases below to find government publications NOT in Hannon Library's online catalog
- Catalog of United States Government Publications"Finding tool for federal publications 1976 to present with direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options." The SuDoc number for finding the document in the Hannon Library Government Publications Department is included with the title of each record.
- Core Documents of Our DemocracyConvenient access to a core group of current and historical Government publications that define our democratic society: Constitution, Declaration of Independence, Congressional bills, the Budget, and many more.
Government Information Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides |
TAX FORMS
This year you must download most forms from the IRS website:
Government Databases
- Government Databases by Title (Indiana Univ/Purdue)
- Science.govSearches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results
- Government Databases (St.Mary's Univ.)Government databases by subject.
- Government Databases (Univ. of S. Alabama)Government databases by subject.
- PubMedCentralPubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.


Loading...
