Database Trial - through Spring Term 2015
The first link will take you to subject databases. Please try the ones in this subject area and let us know what you think. It might be helpful to compare them with the databases you use now. Send me a note about what you think. - Kate
Databases to Search for Scholarly Articles
SpringerLink Journals - searchable database of 1,300 scholarly journals, some available in full-text at SOU. Unclick "Articles" at far left before you search. You may limit retrievals to articles once you have the results.
Digital Archives and Websites
Daily Climate - digest of current news items about weather and climate, the effects of weather and climate, energy and energy sources; cite items like online magazine or newspaper articles (sources should be included). Ads may appear in article views.
Southern Oregon Digital Archives Bioregion - recent and historical texts (many illustrated, many with maps) treating government and nonprofit environmental issues in Klamath-Siskiyou bioregion
Oregon Explorer Natural Resources Digital Library - has regional portals for the Umpqua, Deschutes, Willamette and Lakes Basins, and North Coast; Topical links cover wildfire, wetlands, and land use.
Klamath Waters Digital Library - recent and historical materials about water issues of the Greater Klamath Basin, including government and interest group materials, some illustrated, some have maps; Oregon Institute of Technology Digital Collections also offers the Crater Lake Digital Research Collection
Western Waters Digital Library - significant resources on water in the Western United States
GEOS Institute - Publications link for Ashland-based nonprofit research organization; work on climate change is international in scope, earlier work as National Center for Conservation Science and Policy was partly regionally focused
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive - Full text archive of important journals in bird studies; some titles are historical, while others have a three-year delay.
Links for Climate Data - In Helpful Links box
Links for Water Issues Data - In Internet Resources, Government Sites box
Western Soundscape Archive - Ambient recordings of birds and other animals in environments of western states, including Oregon, plus Arctic National Wildlife Refuge; with species images
World Database on Protected Areas - Terrestrial and marine biodiversity conservation sites worldwide
Search for books in the Hannon Library Catalog. If you are away from the library and need electronic books, limit your search by Material Type EBooks. You may borrow hard-copy books from 36 other Northwest institutions through searching in Summit and completing the online request process.
Journals by Title
How do I find a particular journal?
- Open the Hannon Library Catalog.
- Select “In the title” from the first dropdown.
- Enter the journal title in the search box.
- Select Material Type: “Journals.”
- Hit Search.
If we have it, you should see results appear in a list. Click “View Online” to see options for reading the journal online. Click “Get it” to learn more about what physical print issues we have.
If you don’t see any links, then we probably don’t have it and you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. It will take 1-7 business days and costs $2 for SOU students for each article. You will receive it electronically when it arrives.