This guide is for students at Southern Oregon University doing research in education.
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2015
- USA.gov - Enter your search directly in the search box or use the explore topics link to get you started in a broad range of materials from government sources.
- RESEARCH GUIDE TO GOVERNMENT INFORMATION - Find information from government agencies and search for both U.S.and Oregon government information. Learn how to cite government publications. Use USA.gov and FDsys to find online materials from the state and federal government.
- Google Scholar
"Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Most are NOT full text. You can then use "Journals by Title" (bottom this page) to find the citation within Hannon Library Databases.
- LexisNexis Academic
This database has several distinct modules. Two important ones are "News" and "Legal Research." "News" has more than 350 newspapers full-text from the U.S. and around the world as well as news magazines, broadcast transcripts, etc. "Legal" has federal and state case law, federal codes and regulations, and state codes among a host of other legal materials.
- Legal Collection
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 of law journal
This resource provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
- Google Scholar
Check the "Case Law" link for legal research. Notice that you can then choose to search federal or state court decision or you can select a court from a list of courts.
- Guide to Legal Research
Additional sources for legal research from the Hannon Libary Guide to Federal Information.
The sources below provide access to a rich collection of online content
to supplement and/or replace textbooks. Few of the resources below
point to commercial sites.
- MERLOT(Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching)
Great resource for online teaching. Browse and search discipline specific collections. To find Learning Objects use Advanced Search and select “simulation” from the “Material Type” pull down menu. Set up a personal account to store all your sites.
Contains reviewed scholarly web sites in social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
- OAIster: find the pearls
Provides access to numerous digital archives around the world. Includes text, image, and audio digital collections.
- Registry of Open Access Repository (ROAR)
A guide to content stored on university Institutional Repositories around the world. Contains article pre-prints and post-prints, datasets, theses and dissertations, and numerous primary source and image collections. Select CONTENT SEARCH button to conduct searches.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Over 4,500 open access scholarly journals from around the world.
- Google Scholar
Provides access to scholarly literature however it does contain commercial book and journal sites and points to Wikipedia.
Similar to Infomine. Good browsing scheme and search capabilities. Seven university libraries in the United Kingdom review the sites.
- Rice Connexions
“Connexions is an environment for collaboratively developing, freely sharing, and rapidly publishing scholarly content on the Web.”
A Wisconsin site for learning objects.
- Internet Archive
Provides access to over 350,000 cultural artifacts in digital form. The Archive is divided into 5 Collections including Text, Moving Images, Audio, Web, and Live Music Archive.
- K-12 Oregon Common Core Lesson Plans
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has developed lesson plans geared toward Oregon common core standards, based on common topics in Oregon history (geared toward 4th grade) and American history (geared toward 8th grade) that can be adapted to any grade level. Each lesson plan provides an overview, list of applicable Oregon Common Core State Standards, materials, vocabulary, extension ideas, and additional resources.
Search more e-books in ebrary.
How do I find a particular journal?
- Open the Hannon Library Catalog.
- Select “In the title” from the first dropdown.
- Enter the journal title in the search box.
- Select Material Type: “Journals.”
- Hit Search.
If we have it, you should see results appear in a list. Click “View Online” to see options for reading the journal online. Click “Get it” to learn more about what physical print issues we have.
If you don’t see any links, then we probably don’t have it and you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. It will take 1-7 business days and costs $2 for SOU students for each article. You will receive it electronically when it arrives.
The sites below contain syllabi, reading lists, online resources,
learning objects, and media. Useful to supplement course materials.
- Open Courseware Consortium
An incredible site of open courseware from universities around the world. Excellent resource for an international perspective. Also useful for foreign language content.
- Johns Hopkins Open Courseware
- MIT Open Courseware
- University of Notre Dame
- OER Commons
Open Educational Commons is a part of the open courseware movement and provides access to K-12 and college course materials.
Open University is dedicated solely to distance learning. Click on “LabSpace” under the Browse menu from the first page to find free online sources. You must get an account to take advantage of the resources and services.
K-12 and college level resources. Browse by “University Faculty” and “University School”
A non-profit enterprise that offers free online courses from MIT, Harvard and UC Berkeley. Most of the current courses are related to computer science.
A for-profit enterprise that offers a wide range of free online courses to students around the world. Partners include Stanford University, the University of Michigan, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, and others. Subjects covered include computer science, humanities and social sciences, business, mathematics, and health.
A private educational organization founded by Google VP and Stanford professor Sebastian Thrun and others with the stated goal of democratizing education. Most of the current courses are related to computer science.
- YouTube EDU
Videos of faculty lectures at major universities participating in the OpenCourseware Consortium.
A site devoted to sharing and finding presentations such as PowerPoint and other presentation prorgrams. Great for visual learners.
- Wikimedia Commons
Visual and media resources. Good for animations. Good browsing structure.