This is the "Home" page of the "E-Books and E-Reference" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Books and E-Reference  

This is a guide to finding e-books and online reference at Southern Oregon University.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sou.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SOU's E-Books

Search the Hannon Library Catalog for E-Books:


» ebrary
» EBL books through Summit
» eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary, now provided through Ebsco)

 

Free E-Books on the Web

Search across the e-book sites listed below:

 

Free E-Book Sites:

These sites work best for older books (pre-1923) since those books are now in the public domain.

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Text
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 “classic” public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.

Bartleby.com Great Books Online
Includes several classic works in nonfiction, fiction, poetry and reference.

Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Williams Shakespeare's plays available full text.

EServer Books Collection
This is a collection of book-length monographs and includes fiction, nonfiction, and poetry.

Humanities Text Initiative
Includes a variety of resources in the humanities.

Internet Classics Archive
Includes 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.

Internet Public Library Book Collection
This site points to free e-books in a variety of places across a wide range of disciplines.

Making of America
This is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

On-Line Books Page
Includes more than 30,000 English works.

Perseus Digital Library
Contains several collections including Greek and Roman Materials, Arabic Materials, Germanic Materials, 19th-Century American, Renaissance Materials, and Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri.

Project Gutenberg
This database contains a large number of e-books that are freely available.

Universal Digital Library
Includes the Million Book Digital Library project and is continuing to grow.

E-Reference Resources

 

More Reference Resources

For more specific online encyclopedias, go to the Hannon Library Catalog's list of E-Reference.

For more online reference resources, see our list of free Reference Sites.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip