Skip to main content
Banner Image

Research Guide for Communication: Home

This guide is for students at Southern Oregon University doing research in communication.

Article Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
"Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." Most are NOT full text. You can then use "Journals by Title" to find the citation within Hannon Library Databases.

Communication E-Books from the Hannon Library

Search more e-books in ebrary.

Selected Digital Archive - Primary Sources

Legal Research

  • LexisNexis Academic 
    This database has several distinct modules. Two important ones are "News" and "Legal Research." "News" has more than 350 newspapers full-text from the U.S. and around the world as well as news magazines, broadcast transcripts, etc. "Legal" has federal and state case law, federal codes and regulations, and state codes among a host of other legal materials.
  • Legal Collection 
    Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 of law journal
  • LegalTrac 
    This resource provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Check the "Case Law" link for legal research. Notice that you can then choose to search federal or state court decision or you can select a court from a list of courts.
  • Guide to Legal Research
    Additional sources for legal research from the Hannon Libary Guide to Federal Information.

Library FAQs

Library Frequently Asked Questions

Expressing Yourself and Plagiarism

Good site called Avoiding Plagiarism from Portland State

Hannon Library Catalog and Summit

Search for books, videos, and other library materials at SOU and in our consortium:


Hannon Library Summit

 

» Hannon Library Catalog
» Summit

3 Basic Steps to Research at the Hannon Library

Tutorials: Library Research Basics

Librarian

Dale Vidmar
Contact:
552-6842

Lib. 144 - First Floor of the Hannon Library
541-552-6842
Website / Blog Page

Journals by Title

How do I find a particular journal?

  1. Open the Hannon Library Catalog.
  2. Select “In the title” from the first dropdown.
  3. Enter the journal title in the search box.
  4. Select Material Type: “Journals.”
  5. Hit Search.

If we have it, you should see results appear in a list. Click “View Online” to see options for reading the journal online. Click “Get it” to learn more about what physical print issues we have.

If you don’t see any links, then we probably don’t have it and you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. It will take 1-7 business days and costs $2 for SOU students for each article. You will receive it electronically when it arrives.

Film Resources